Reflections of a Broken Man


Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear by StephenMac
December 12, 2008, 9:18 am
Filed under: Reflections | Tags: , , ,

Lost in the Sound of SeparationIt’s been quite a while since I last posted here… first exams, then my laptop’s wireless not working, and then WoW… probably the latter is the most prominent reason. Anyhow, while doing some Christmas shopping, I came across Underoath’s latest album, Lost in the Sounds of Separation. Having not listened to much screamo music of late (Define the Great Line being the only one that I listen to regularly…) at first hear, this album was rough… Yet, after listening to it quite a few times, it begins to grow on you… For some reason, my albums always require repeated listening session before I start liking them. But one song really struck me: Too Bright to See, Too Loud to Hear. I love this song, not only because (a) it has minimal screaming, and (b) musically it’s great, but also because it has a fantastic message. I think the songs that I love are the ones that actually require thought and have real meaning. Sure, the typical pop love song may be great, but the songs that hit home are the ones that mean something.

Good God, if your song leaves our lips
If your work leaves our hands
Then we will be wonders and vagabonds
They will stare and say how empty we are
How the freedom we had turned us up as dead men
Let us be cold, make us weak
Let us, because we all have ears
Let us, because we all have eyes
Good God!
How they knew that this would happen
they knew, they knew that this would!
We’re so run down
Good God! Can you still get us home?
How can we still get home?
I’m not dreaming
We’re forgetting our forgiveness

I don’t think that this one needs commentary, so I recommend that you find a copy to listen to!

EBHG

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that song. It rocks. I like the blog.

Comment by Eric

Cheers Eric, thanks for dropping by.

I was reading a few reviews for the album, and it struck me that this song is only half… the final track seems to follow on too, which I also love and should possibly post seperately… or just do it here:

Desolate Earth: The End is Here

You said there was nothing left down here
Well I roamed around the wasteland
And I swear I found something
I found hope, I found God
I found the dreams of the believers
The dreams of the believers
Oh God, save us all

Comment by StephenMac

I totally agree that Desolate Earth: The End Is Here goes with Too Bright To See, Too Loud Yo Hear (it even rhymes!). Also Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear is definately my favorite song. I really want to know the ‘behind the scenes’ of the song like how they came up with it and stuff. Although a lot of Underoath’s work is screaming, all their songs have a meaning and message and I like that.

Comment by Ms_Spectacular

Haha, thanks Ms.

Yeah, I would love to “peek” at the thought process that goes into writing music… a true talent methinks… Anberlin have a similar talent I think too…

And I don’t doubt that the screaming songs have no less meaning than this, but this is so much easier on the vocal cords to sing yourself eh? Though after a while, when you decipher the words (with the aid of the album booklet) you do sing along to some of them 😛

Comment by StephenMac

[…] some reason, you find these “popular”… Miserabile Visu (Ex Malo Bonum)On Being ThankfulToo Bright To See, Too Loud To HearMesses of […]

Pingback by On Video « Reflections of a Broken Man




Leave a Reply

