Reflections of a Broken Man


On Mission by StephenMac
April 2, 2009, 12:24 am
Filed under: Reflections

**Currently listening to Our Love to Admire by Interpol**

So tomorrow is my day off, and I have just been reflecting on the past half-week of mission. I personally haven’t done much. Our mission team has had hectic points, but in comparison to many, we’ve had it pretty cruisy… This has caused me to reflect on how much of what happens is thus God’s work. There is no way that I could make any claim that the awesome things that have happened are the result of my own hands.

Of late, I have been convicted that part of maturity is having direction. And today, I think that hearing about the work of the church that I am at, parish ministry is a definite option. So is church planting in the parish context… so is discipling of leaders in a congregation… there are so many opportunities that thrill and excite me, and if I sat down and thought about seriously, would scare the crap out of me.

MPj04331320000[1]There are so many godly people who have welcomed me into their lives… I spent a mere 90 minutes with a group of people today, and found them to be a most encouraging and godly bunch. There are members of the various congregations who give their livelihoods to the ministry of the Word, and that excites me. This is something worth becoming involved in, even though it would require a lot of work and undoubtedly pain.

The awesomeness of mission coupled with the brokenness of this particular “missionary” and laxity and perhaps even lack of faithfulness reminds me of how much this is God’s mission. This is a “mission” upon which I am sent, called rather than voluntarism, and yet, I feel somewhat like a bystander or an audience of this fantastic drama that is unfolding before my eyes.

Praise be to the God who works despite my pathetic attempts to serve. Praise be to Him who has used me to achieve his will, in what seem like weak and poor conversations. Praise be to the One who is sovereign over our door knocking, over our conversations, over our meetings, over our events, over our contacts, over our congregations, over ourselves. Praise be to our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ forever! Mission is pitiful without him.

EBHG

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

