Reflections of a Broken Man


On Vision by StephenMac
May 30, 2009, 1:02 am
Filed under: Reflections

**Currently listening to Franz Ferdinand – Franz Ferdinand… A little peculiar in places (like the current song, Michael), but on the whole, pretty good**

I’m trying out this post by email at the moment, so not sure what the formatting will be like, but anyhow…

Vision is an important thing. Vision in the Gospels was an incredibly important metaphor, as so often it was the blind who could see Jesus so much clearer than those with clear vision. It was the blind who saw Jesus as the Messiah, the Saviour of humanity, our LORD, yet the disciples and the teacher of the law were so blind to this fact. And we are so often the same today. In another sense, vision is so important for ministry: having direction and purpose, goals and strategies. I hate these terms with a passion, because in the secular world they become god, but in the ministry context, they provide focus for getting the Good News about Christ Jesus out there. We need vision in a strategic sense so that those who are blind may see in the spiritual sense.

I’m not a fan of visions, but I must admit, I have been changed so much within the last month by men who have a heart for the gospel, and a vision for seeing it reach the lost. I need the dose of caution though. I think personally, it is so easy for me to see the strategic vision as the ends, and miss the spiritual vision that the strategic seeks to allow. I easily replace the ends with the means…

I have a camp coming up in July: it’s called VISION: Seeing Jesus For Who He Really Is. On it, I hope to excite my brothers and sisters at church that Jesus is King, Messiah and God. I pray that the Holy Spirit will so enflame them about this vision that they will be filled with a heart to seek and serve the lost. This is my vision. As long as this doesn’t become rhetoric, I’ll be OK, but I genuinely fear it…

Vision is about seeing God, seeing his Son, and seeing his people. And vision is about how we help others to do that. I met a man today who has both. And it is very exciting.

EBHG

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

