Reflections of a Broken Man


On eu AGMs (Part 1): Ministry belongs to God’s people. by patricious
September 15, 2009, 8:23 pm
Filed under: Reflections

Another eu year has gone by in terms of its leadership. And I’m always encouraged around about this time, reflecting on God’s blessing in his ministry on campus and looking forward to who God has raised to steward over it for the following year. On Monday night I attended two Annual General Meetings [AGM] of the eu. The first was with the faculty I take part in, ACES. The one for the eu as a whole followed, with an hour separating the two for the equip ethics course.

Faculty AGMs tend to be more chillaxed. Usually with a presentation recounting the year as a whole and some words of wisdom for the exiting committee (servants who lead the faculty) before we vote* on the entering committee. Orion (former male faculty leader of aces) gave a talk on the purpose of the committee; one that I’ve heard before. Based on the start of Ephesians 4, he made a few points that are worth noting.

  1. First, that ministry belongs to “God’s people” (v.12)
  2. Second, that God apportions gifts (his grace) diversely. In that God calls some to be apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors teachers. And although that list is not exhaustive, particular roles such as these are purposed “to prepare God’s people for works of service” (ibid).
    Thus, also taking into account that time within committee is fleeting, the leadership needs to allow for redundancy (comparative to the work of euers in general and, of course, God).
  3. Thirdly, the goal of ministry is for people to be built up in Christ:

    “Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ. From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.” Ephesians 4.15

    This is done by speaking.
    And speaking the truth; not simply in terms of ‘honesty’ but the truth of Jesus.
    And this is done togeather, in love

Therefore, in electing the in-coming committee it was important to consider who would prepare God’s people for works of service.
It is both humbling and liberating to be one of God’s people.
All called by his grace. And all taking part in his work.

Part 2 on the ‘all union’ AGM will be up soon.

*A clarification on the voting within the eu: I’m not exactly sure how other USU clubs and societies do it, but as far as I know the democracy within the eu seems kind of skewed since members tend to be unfailingly agreeable. But those that are brave also ‘abstain’. Maybe this is a problem, I don’t know. And I think it’s a good problem to have, since the candidates for leadership (from the years I have been at uni) have been so well suited in their positions that it’s valuable to have full support from those whom they are to serve.
Alas, being that I’m an associate member of the eu (i.e. without ‘access’) I don’t get the responsibility and privilege of voting. But I wonder if anyone has ever voted against the nominated leaders within the eu?

 

P.S. This was copied and pasted from facebook ‘Notes’ application. After having had written the draft, I figured that the negative tones in ‘redundancy’ and the voting bullet point was emo enough to qualify for this blog. Please excuse any awkward formatting.

P.P.S. I’m still unsure as to how to do some of the fancy things on this blog, like making the passage pop-up when I reference them. But stephenmac will teach me in his good time. In the meantime, I thank him, once again, for the many friendly chats we’ve had when I pop into chappo without warning.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Pat!
I saw the blog post and was like hey!!

Here’s some further reflections from the talk. I was reading through earlier some of the birthday messages that people had written for me, and it occurred to me that a lot of people had thanked me for the work I was doing as a faculty leader. Not that there was anything wrong with that in itself, but it got me reflecting on how people see how I relate to them.

In understanding ‘ministry belongs to the saints’, it said to me that I should relate to others first as a ‘truth-speaking saint’ rather than a faculty leader. Maybe it was a letdown if people saw me first as a fac leader rather than a brother in Christ.

But good job on the blog! =)

Comment by Orion

Ye. No worries.
I feel like I basically taxed your exegetical work in that blog. I was meant to write more but ran out of time (not that there’s a time limit to blogging).
In a very real sense “the saints” includes the elected leaders as well. But I also see that the “works of service” in these roles directly affect God’s people, hence the gratitude is given for that. Our brothership in Christ is a result of God’s work, hence the gratitude for that belongs to him and not you. Hehe.
But yes, I see you as a brother in Christ prior to being my slave in the Lord. 🙂
And I thank God that he’s gifted you in advance for the good works you have done.

Comment by patricious




Leave a Reply

