Reflections of a Broken Man


“Look For Good Men to Work With” by StephenMac
November 20, 2009, 4:10 pm
Filed under: Reflections

In a counterpoint to my last post, I’ve been really hit by how amazing God has been to me, and it’s only taken a year to see it. Singleness has its many challenges, including loneliness, frustration and many other things. I may not have a wife, girlfriend, whatever, or even any prospects for such. However, I have realised that I have a really really awesome close-knit group of friends here at the college residences. It wasn’t until after exams, however, that I realised this.

Yesterday, I celebrated the post-exam period with a brunch at on of the lecturers places, with the other second year resos. Here… what an amazing, awesome, godly group of people. It had a tinge of the bittersweet – some were leaving – yet, it was at that point, I realised that I had the single-man’s equivalent of a wife: the community of “good men” (and I mean that in the non-gender-specific sense). One of my mentors had taught me: “Ministry is a wonderful privilege. Look for good men to work with”. I found that yesterday. It had been in front of me for two years, but as you know, I’m slow on the uptake. Life may be difficult, my inner struggles tormenting. But I have found great joy in the people that God has given me as family.

And it is this family that I realise needs to be solidified now, lest it be dispersed post-college. The fact that I have only a few friends from school days means that I need to take seriously those who are dear to me now. For it is this group who are not only peers, but colleagues, fellow workers in God’s field. It’s something that I never ever want to lose.

“Look for good men to work with”

EBHG

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You broke pattern, dude!
“On…”

colleagues are just as important a relationship to keep up with I reckon… the hard part I guess is that there isn’t a vocalised commitment to them so it seems that they come and go with very little to fuss about.

Comment by Patricious

Sorry for writing Off-Topic but what wordpress theme do you use? Looks great!!

Comment by weinfentita

haha… it’s a minor modification of Benevolence:

http://www.thoughtmechanics.com/blog/2005/01/03/benevolence/
http://www.thoughtmechanics.com/templates/

although, I’m sure you can find the wordpress.com version somewhere too…

Comment by StephenMac

Dude, just saw this post now!! I’ve been a little off the blog-game! … you’re a good fella mate, and I’m glad to be serving our Lord with you. Looking forward to many more fruitful years of it! 🙂 M.

Comment by Mark Earngey




Leave a Reply

