Reflections of a Broken Man


On Reconciliation (i) by StephenMac
November 10, 2010, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Reflections

**Currently listening to Innocent Bystanders United – Norma Jean**

It has occurred to me recently, that living at college has put me in contact with some of the finest theologians around. More specifically, it has blessed me with the chance to build friendships with some really Godly Christians – men and women who love Jesus dearly. There’s one in particular who lives nearby, who regularly comes for a coffee and a chat, who is a blessing that I constantly take for granted.

That ends (hopefully) now, as I try to reflect on some of the things that he has taught me. The aim is to write down at least one thing as the result of our conversation, so that I don’t forget, and perhaps to share with you the blessing that God has showered on me.

Reconciliation is a topic that is dear to his heart at the moment – hence the title of the series – and today we chatted about 2 Cor 5:16-20

16 So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. 17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! 18 All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: 19 that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. 20 We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

Reconciliation – the process of being two warring parties together in peace – is something that God does for us. It has a vertical dimension: the fixing of the relationship between God and I. But it also has a horizontal dimension: in reconciling us to himself, God demands that we be reconciled to one another. As Christ’s ambassadors, we hold out both dimensions to those we meet. It is thus hypocritical to be reconciled to God and not be reconciled to those around me who I have wronged, or who have wronged me.

So, in a similar way to God’s reconciling action towards me (which cost him), so too will my reconciling actions towards those around me be a cost to me. But that is what we are called to – as ambassadors, we call for reconciliation, first to God, then to men.

EBHG

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

